Skip to content

Fruits of Bignay

August 1, 2011

Do you remember my blog on bignay (Antidesma bunius, Euphorbiaceae/Phyllanthaceae) from April? Now it is time to eat the fruits! Ketsanee eats them even green. The fruits do not ripen all at once, which I guess makes juice production a bit difficult. Aroi!

Weather: 63 mm of rain since yesterday – wonderful! That is about 25% of August’s average precipitation in one day. We need even more to fill up the quarries to survive the coming dry season (November-May). More rain is expected today and tomorrow. The water level in the canal is higher than the concrete, and one bridge near the university was overflown.

Eric

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2011 1:27 PM

    With this being the third posting for Antidesma bunius นะเน่าดง (Ma Maodong) , I am beginning to wonder if the orchids are not starting to feel they have a rival for the writer’s affections? What will the reaction be when we see seedlings of Ma Maodong offered to visitors of DokMai Garden?

    • August 1, 2011 2:28 PM

      Well, my favourite plant is always the one I am just looking at, I guess. I love them all, and the bats and the butterflies and the moths and the chicken…

      Eric

  2. August 1, 2011 1:35 PM

    Oops just realised my Thai typing above and before was wrong and should be มะเม่าดง. If we include Thai names of plants the Dogma should be found by people searching using Thai.

Trackbacks

  1. Bignay (Antidesma bunius)

Leave a comment