Skip to content

Time capsule

May 21, 2013

To allow our children a Swedish education and to expose them to Swedish culture, we soon move there. That means Dokmai Garden will be put in a time capsule. It will be exciting to see how the garden and the orchid collection have developed when we return, and by that time Thailand is probably a different country.

VIP card holders may still enter the garden until their cards expire, but please remember to send us an e-mail first. Densak and Nived Seehamongkol will care for the garden together with other family members, but it is no longer open to tours and there will be no restaurant nor any other commercial activities.

The Dokmai Dogma will take a rest too, but we hope the 870+ blogs will still help introducing newcomers to monsoon gardening and jungles.

Ketsanee Seehamongkol and Eric Danell

Eulophia andamanensis fruit.72Do you remember the Eulophia andamanensis orchid? It was pollinated naturally and we hope this pregnant lady (top right) will spread her seeds so that her grandchildren will prosper in our monsoon woodland.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2013 1:47 PM

    I am sure I am not the only one who will be missing Dokmai Dogma blogs and I do hope the site with its search facility is retained as a resource for Chiang Mai nature lovers.
    OurChiangMai.com where I write on occasional conservation and social issues remains and its pages are open to guest writers who may be able to fill in some of the gaps while Eric is far away.
    Please drop me a line at GumHakDoiSuthep@yahoo.com if you want to write

  2. Mac Prahin permalink
    May 21, 2013 2:08 PM

    Hi dear Eric,

    I would like to thank you very much for all your advise and informations.
    I followed your blog since some times now and I feel you gave so many valuables advises and informations on Thai greenery that I just can be thankful for all what I learned.
    I will take a flight next week and arrive on the 29th of May. When will you leave to Sweden ? Do you think there is any possibility to meet before you leave or as I am speaking fluently Thai would it be exceptionally possible to visit your garden still with one of your wife’s family member?

    I wish you and your family all the very best possible in Thailand before leaving and in Sweden.

    Mac

    • May 24, 2013 7:24 PM

      Thanks Mac, I am already in Sweden and Dokmai Garden is already shut down.

      • Mac Prahin permalink
        May 24, 2013 7:29 PM

        I wish you then the very best to all your family in your new Swedish life

  3. Ann Cann permalink
    May 21, 2013 2:13 PM

    Colin and I have had 4 visits to your garden, including a lecture on the Mekong.  We are now back in the UK, Colin until June 6 and me until mid-September;  we await our return to CM with delight.  We wish you all a wonderful time in Sweden and look forward to your return – though by then we may be too old to travel to Thailand!!  We have enjoyed Dokmai Dogma and have forwarded many of the articles to my son, David, who you may remember has the National Collection of Ruscus in the UK, and is involved with research on our native Sorbus Devoniensis.   With very best wishes, Ann and Colin

    ________________________________

  4. glynn richard permalink
    May 21, 2013 5:21 PM

    So sorry to hear you and family are leaving Eric! many blessing and have some wonderful new adventures! please hurry back. I am sure Paul E. would say the very same. He is in America at this time.
    glynn who came a few times and loved the lectures and walks.

  5. May 21, 2013 7:12 PM

    Hi Eric, I’ve enjoyed the posts and will miss them. My wife and I visited you briefly last time we were in Thailand-2 years ago. We enjoyed the garden and your enthusiasm.Best regards, Bill Jones, Florida

  6. David Cooke permalink
    May 21, 2013 10:16 PM

    what? I feel a bit lost now, when do you get back?

  7. David Fielder permalink
    May 22, 2013 10:28 AM

    Best wishes to you and your family as you begin another chapter in Sweden!

    Keep in touch,

    With kind regards – David

  8. Aborn D Smith permalink
    May 22, 2013 12:05 PM

    I will miss all your updates. But maybe someday ill be able to see your biologically diverse corner of Thailand.

  9. June 6, 2013 5:50 PM

    Sorry to hear that, but I’m sure you will all have a great time living in Sweden. A great place to raise kids, indeed. Now I feel very disappointed I never managed to come up to visit your place. I am living in Koh Tao now but was hoping to visit Chiang Mai (and Dokmai) in October or so. Where will you be in Sweden? Do you have a new job there? Your expert botanical knowledge will be sorely missed here, I can assure you.

    • June 7, 2013 3:30 PM

      Thanks for your kind words Adam! I am sure we’ll meet at Dokmai Garden some day.

      Cheers, Eric

Leave a Reply

