Skip to content

Thai June feels like Swedish June

June 3, 2012

A morning dog walk yesterday made me realize this time of the year Thailand superficially resembles a Swedish summer day. The landscape is all green, and the emerging Curcuma leaves (Siamese tulips and turmeric of the ginger family Zingiberaceae) do resemble tulip leaves very much. It is cooler thanks to the rains, 25°C around 9 a.m.

The most intensive epiphytic orchid flowering season here in Thailand is March-May, and now begins a time for their green growth and nutrient accumulation for next year’s blossom. However, many ground orchids are just emerging and their peak season is yet to come. Yesterday I uttered a few bad words in Swedish when I realized a gardener had mowed an area he was not supposed to, and consequently chopped some darling ground orchids. My four year old shadow immediately walked back to the gardeners’ house to commence an inquisition. I forgot my son’s Swedish is so good now I can no longer enjoy therapeutic bursts of cursing in a foreign language. Previously it was a good way to deal with pain and disappointment before twisting your face into a fake smile of gratitude and appreciation when gently repeating instructions for the 30th time.

While writing this I see a beautiful golden-brown jungle fowl peeking at me. She knows she is not supposed to be on this side of the wall, and is observing my reaction. However, this time of the year with so many pests on the ground I am in fact grateful for her assistance also in the restaurant garden, and so I let her do what she is good at.

The guinea fowl hatchlings are here one week old. Their orange legs and striped heads are quite characteristic. The adult members of the pack collaborate in protecting the next generation against predators, while chicken seem more like humans, surrounded by fellow adults but in fact alone if there is any problem.

Text & Photo: Eric Danell

3 Comments leave one →
  1. David Cooke permalink
    June 3, 2012 12:13 PM

    your remarks about your young sprout sounds familiar. I had to stop using certain words when I noticed my son was a quick learner. I am glad to see that some problems are universal, how many times did I tell my guys not to mow lawns until the daffodil foliage had died down?

  2. Ducuing permalink
    June 3, 2012 1:14 PM

    nice small family , but do you manage with the guinean fowls? do you cut one wing when they are still young? Because the problem for that species is that it flies like a bird!

    Ivan

    • June 4, 2012 11:18 AM

      We do not cut the wings of any bird – they are free to leave if they wish. One guinea fowl did a long time ago because the others mobbed it. It was probably eaten by a happy neghbour. Our silver pheasant flew out too, and a dog bit him but we saved him. As long as the birds feel safe and get some afternoon snack (rice) they seem to stay with us.

Leave a Reply

