Skip to content

Two birds, a dog and a broken hand

April 5, 2012

Two days ago I heard upset screams from the birds. I dashed out of the Dokmai Garden lab to see what was going on. It was the usual late afternoon bird feeding, but the rooster had according to witnesses attacked a guinea fowl and pecked her to death. I picked up the dying bird in my hands. She was heavy, warm and so beautiful with a perfect plumage. There was no apparent injury or blood. The guinea fowl probably died from a bleeding in the brain.

I felt terrible anger towards the rooster, and my logic was for once on the same side as my emotions, arguing that we could not have a killer amongst us, or more guinea fowl and perhaps the silver pheasant might become victims. I chased the rooster far away from the other birds and then I fetched Ruben, the Golden Retriever. He was very enthusiastic, knowing a hunt was afoot. I sat down next to Ruben and showed him the rooster lurking next to the bougainvilleas. I told him to take the rooster, and off he dashed with all the joy of a natural born hunter. The chase lasted for quite some while, and the rooster dashed back towards the pack of other birds. I feared Ruben would let go of the sprinting rooster and change to a more easy prey such as the limping silver pheasant (they almost collided), but I must admire Ruben’s intelligence and devotion, focusing solely on the one bird out of twenty that I wanted. Both disappeared behind the lab and so I ran the other direction to wait for the rooster. When he came out I tripped his exhausted legs with a long bamboo pole and a second later he was between Ruben’s jaws.

I rewarded Ruben verbally and glowing of pride he trotted around with his trophy. The victorious moment was soon over, and I began fearing that Ruben would go on with his hunt, so I tried to catch him. I fell. I think I broke my hand.

One second you live in paradise, next second you have lost two dear birds and your hand. The delicious dinner offered some comfort.

Eric Danell

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2012 1:38 PM

    Delicious dinner – Guinea Fowl & Rooster – roasted or stewed?

    Excellent typing for a one handed typist.

    • April 5, 2012 9:03 PM

      Thanks Ricky! The birds were transformed into various dishes. The guinea fowl had a very tender and tasty meat.

  2. Mark permalink
    April 5, 2012 11:35 PM

    A bird in hand is worth two in the bush or should it read:
    A broken hand isn’t worth two dead birds in the bush.

    Mark B

Leave a Reply

