Skip to content

It is COLD!

December 22, 2011

At midnight it was 16 °C, and in the morning at 08 it was 14 °C. I freeze when it is below 20 °C, and like a reptile I sit in the morning sun to heat up. Our gorgeous and beloved silver pheasant stood on one leg to stay away from the cold morning dew. The gardeners walk around with sulky faces and jackets and hats. I put my black crocs in the sun to let them heat up. It is a wonderful feeling to put your shivering feet in shoes heated by solar power. Many western tourists ask me how I can stand the heat (referring to the afternoons which always reach 29-32 °C, except in the flowering season, March-April, when we can have temperatures reaching 37-42 °C). I love the heat! How can you stand the cold?

A Thai midwinter scenery from Dokmai Garden in Chiang Mai (Crinum asiaticum purple selection, descretely but elegantly fragrant, 163 cm tall. In the background citronella grass, Cymbopogon nardus).

Eric Danell

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Allen Todd permalink
    December 22, 2011 1:54 AM

    I feel your pain, literally! Here in sunny (ha ha) Corvallis, Oregon 14 C would be a pretty nice high temperature for this time of the year. Fortunately, I only have to wait two more weeks before leaving here for the sunny Andaman coast of Thailand. I hope to be able to get up to Chiang Mai and visit your gardens.

    • December 22, 2011 8:13 AM

      Dear Allen,
      Most welcome here if you can. It will be so fun to catch up with the development in Corvallis which I have not visited for maybe 15 years.

      Cheers, Eric

  2. December 22, 2011 12:18 PM

    Being from San Francisco Bay area, the weather/climate in the mornings and evenings in Chiang Mai does not phase me – for me, it is cool but not cold. At home,after an hour or two at the gym, I will often walk around outside with a T-Shirt, shorts and flip-flops(my default wardrobe). That being said, I’m a tropical guy and I love the heat/hot weather. By the way, I am currently in Chiang Dao, some 71 Kilometers north of Chiang Mai, where the weather forecast for today is 29C/16C.

Leave a Reply

