Skip to content

Black eagle hunting at Dokmai Garden

November 20, 2011

Yesterday we had the honour of receiving 31 Thai guests and three Britons. When I walked through the Dokmai Garden monsoon woodland with some of the guests we saw a huge shadow on ground. We looked up and saw a large, beautiful, black eagle (Ictinaetus malayensis) make an elegant loop not higher than the treetops of our mangos. This eagle is a bird hunter, and with over 80 bird species recorded from Dokmai Garden there is plenty of food even for a raptor. Thanks to Mark Marples quick hands and excellent camera we managed to portray this uncommon resident:

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2011 2:13 AM

    There’s nothing that I enjoy more than watching the multitude of interactions in nature – both macro and micro – including birds hunting for prey. Great picture by the way!

  2. November 20, 2011 3:41 PM

    What a stunning bird and great capture. I need to get out more.

  3. November 23, 2011 11:12 AM

    At my old place on the Big Island we had a resident pair of Hawaiian Hawks (Buteo solitarius), an endangered species. It seems odd that they’re considered endangered, because I saw them everywhere, and they seem almost unafraid of people. Once, a hawk was bathing himself (or herself) in a puddle on our little dirt road as I was driving out to the highway. He refused to interrupt his bath to let me pass until I’d nudged the truck so close to him that I couldn’t see him. A bulldozer told me that hawks had learned to follow the machine as he cleared land, snatching up disturbed rodents and other goodies—just like my chickens had learned to follow me as I mowed the lawn, snatching up the suddenly exposed insects. Our pair of hawks mated every April, as I recall, in the same tall, dead tree. It was a noisy, violent affair, what one might expect of couple of raptors.

    Ken

  4. December 1, 2011 8:51 PM

    I also was fortunate enough to witness these same magnificent raptors from my building site adjacent to the Dokmai Gardens..Truly spectacular to watch, and a further reminder of why many of us ‘Farang” (foreigners) have chosen to relocate to this beautiful little corner of the world.

    Brad Ferguson.

    • December 2, 2011 9:23 AM

      Hi Brad,

      Yes, in addition to the black eagle, we have crested serpent eagle, shikra, collared scops-owl and Asian barred owlet. The black kite passes us during migration, a huge raptor. We also had a falcon inside our shop. It hovered in the air looking very surprised (and so was I), and then it flew out from a side door. The event was too quick for me to be able to make an ID.

      We welcome all reports on new bird sightings.

      Eric

Leave a Reply

